Dr. Mustafa Erdik is a Professor Emeritus of Earthquake Engineering at Bogazici University, Istanbul and President of the Turkish Earthquake Foundation. He has received his BSc degree from Middle East Technical University, MSc and PhD degrees from Rice University, USA. He has worked with UN organizations and several international foundations around the world on earthquake engineering problems and has authored about 300 scientific publications.

He is the recipient of United Nation’s Sasakawa Disaster Prevention Award, NATO’s Science for Peace – Summit Prize, Bruce Bolt Medal given by Earthquake Engineering Research Institute, USA: Prof. Nicholas Ambraseys Distinguished Lecture Award given by the European Association for Earthquake Engineering and; Science Award by Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey.

His professional expertise encompasses: earthquake hazard and risk assessment, earthquake insurance modeling, earthquake early warning and rapid response systems, earthquake resistant design of infrastructures (especially dams, tunnels and pipelines), earthquake protection of historical edifices, structural control (seismic isolation, tuned mass dampers).


Xuesong Zhou joined the School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment at Arizona State University in 2013. Previously, he was an associate professor at University of Utah.

Zhou’s research work focuses on dynamic traffic assignment, traffic estimation and prediction, large-scale routing and rail scheduling. He has been assisting the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) to develop and provide technical support for large-scale simulation-based dynamic traffic assignment systems, for the past 10 years. He serves as an Associate Editor for Transportation Research Part C: Emerging Technologies. He has published more than 30 papers related to dynamic traffic assignment and rail operations research in Transportation Research Part B, Transportation Research Part C, EJOR and IEEE Transactions on ITS. His paper on single-track train timetabling is one of top 10 mostly cited papers in Transportation Research Part B during the period of 2007-2013. He is the principle developer of open-source package DTALite, light-weight open-source traffic assignment/simulation engine and NEXTA, a traffic data visualization platform, which have been used by a number of transportation planning agencies, with more than 3000 downloads from the Google Code website.

Zhou is the co-chair of the IEEE ITS Society Technical Committee on Traffic and Travel Management, co-vice chair for Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences, Railway Applications Section (RAS). He also serves as the chair for the Network Equilibrium Modeling Subcommittee in TRB Committee on Transportation Network Modeling (ADB30). He is also the co-inventor of Key2SafeDriving technologies, which has been reported by more than 300 media outlets including New York Times, Wall Street Journal and National Public Radio.

Students advised by Zhou have won a number of awards: Jeffrey Taylor received the Council of University Transportation Centers Pikarsky Award-Science & Technology-MS, 2014, Tie Shi won the First Prize in Management Science in Railroad Applications Paper Contest, Institute for Operations Research and Management Science (INFORMS), 2014. Tao Xing, Kenneth Williams, Rohan Madtha, Daniel Van Tassell won Windows Mobile Award, Microsoft’s Imagine Cup Student Technology Competition, 2009, out of 125 participating student teams in the U.S.


Mustafa Sahmaran received his PhD in 2006 before completing his postdoctoral fellowship at Michigan University, US and Ryerson University, Canada. He is currently a full Professor with the Department of Civil Engineering at Hacettepe University. His current research interests are in micromechanical design and durability of high-performance and ultra-ductile cementitious composites, recycling industrial and natural waste products into useful construction materials, and nano-modification in cementitious systems. Dr. Sahmaran is a member of several technical committees of the American Concrete Institute, American Society of Civil Engineering, US Transportation Research Board, Turkish Society of Civil Engineering and the International Union of Laboratories and Experts in Construction Materials, Systems and Structures. Dr. Şahmaran published over 100 peer-reviewed research articles in major scientific journals and conferences.

Prof. Şahmaran received the Province of Ontario Fellowship in 2007, Eser Tümen Research Award in 2012, Turkish Academy of Sciences Distinguished Young Scientist Award (TUBA-GEBIP) in 2012, Prof. Dr. Mustafa N. Parlar Education and Research Foundation Young Scientist Research Incentive Award in 2013, TUBITAK Young Scientist Award in 2014, FABED Eser Tümen Distinguished Achievement Award in 2015, Society of Science Heroes’ Young Scientist Award in 2015, Hacettepe University Science Incentive Award in the field of Science and Engineering in 2017, Turkish Academy of Sciences Young Scientist Award in 2018 and American Concrete Institute Wason Medal for Materials Research in 2018.